Monday, December 27, 2010

Vegetarian vs Vegan

Well as I have prowled around other sites I have come to the conclusion that it might be a good idea to state the dietary ideals behind both, to at least some degree.

Vegetarian: a vegetarian is someone who consumes no flesh of any animal (including sea life). Some may consume dairy and eggs, these are called Lacto (dairy) ovo (egg) vegetarians.

There is a misconception out there that vegetarians still eat fish, if not all sea life. This misinformation is just that. Someone who eats mostly vegetarian but consumes sea life is a Pescetarian

Vegan. Vegans tend (not all but most) to have further beliefs in their choices that flow into their everyday lives. Diet wise they consume NO ANIMAL by products (no flesh, no dairy, no eggs, no gelatin, etc). However their beliefs tend to take them further eliminating all animal products from their lives. This extends to wool, down, leather, and in many cases honey as well and other products that COME from animals. 

For the purposes of this blog
Omni contains meat 
Vegetarian, meatless but contains either Egg, Diary or Honey
Vegan, meatless and contains no known animal products including dairy, egg and honey


  1. wow - thanks for the clarification. Never heard of the term pescetarian before - but I know I've met many!